Still Smokin!

What a great experience! Jon and I got to the Masonic Auditorium, and took our seats, about 10 minutes before the show started.  Tommy’s wife came out and told a few jokes, and stories, until some drunk asswipe started yelling when she was trying to talk, so she wrapped it up, and introduced Cheech and Tommy.  They performed many of their old routines, with little twists and changes, and they were great.  We laughed our asses off.  They performed for almost two hours.  After the show, we headed down to the stage, and met up with the guy from the radio station. One of the security staff was trying to make everyone leave, including the radio guy, but he got everythinng worked out, and we headed back stage.  I heard him say he had 5 guests, + 1 additioal guest for each, but I only saw 5 other people that were with him, and one of the ladies knew the guy.  I am sure there were more winners during the week, so I guess we were part of the lucky few!  There were others there who paid $150 a ticket for the VIP package, which got them backstage, but only about twenty.
 
100_4264  Jon, Cheech Marin, & me
 
Cheech came in right as I was trying to open a bottle of water, as you can see on my sweatshirt (hahaha).
Then Tommy made his way into the room. 
 

100_4266  Me, Tommy Chong, & Jon

They made their way around the room, posing for photos, sighning autographs (I saw a few old vinyl records that had seen a few years!), and talking to a few who they actually knew.  I had my DVD copy of Up In Smoke, and I had bought one for Jon, and they autographed them for us.  Both were very gracious, so it truly was a pleasure to have the opportunity to meet them.   It was a great experience, and I was thrilled to have been able to share it with Jon.  It is an evening neither of us will ever forget.

100_4262100_4265100_4269100_4271

As we wandered out, we went down the wrong hall, past the private party area, and judging from the heavy sweet aroma in the hallway, yep, the boys are Still Smokin’!

This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Still Smokin!

  1. eron says:

    you…. you…. you lucky @#$%^&*s
     
    I believe if you looked up the word "envy" in the dictionary right now, you\’d see a picture of my smiling face and a single raised finger.
     
    The pics are great, cuz. May the good things in life continue to be yours.
     
     
    Martin

  2. eron says:

    Posted from email reply to my thank you note to the Bone
     
    fantastic! great shotseron norris wrote:> > Master Seaweed, I just wanted to take the time to thank you, and the > promotions department at the Bone! After getting through to you Friday, > to win the tickets for last night\’s show, the promo department called > me, and told me that we were also invited to a meet & greet after the > show, which really made our weekend!> > My son and I went to the show, and laughed our asses off. We caught up > with Louie (from the promo dept.), and the other few people who were > invited to the m&g, and headed backstage. Tommy and Cheech were both > very gracious, and it was a wonderful experience.

  3. eron says:

    Dude,
    That is so AWESOME!  You are the luckiest fucker on those radio station contests!  I\’m glad you guys had such a good time.
    Later.
     
    Mort

  4. eron says:

    The funny thing is, it was just about 3 weeks ago that I watched Up In Smoke with Jon, for his first time seeing it!

  5. eron says:

    Hey Eron,
    Thanks for sharing the pics. That must have been a lot of fun for you and Jon….very cool! You always win shit on the radio….what\’s up with that?? Jon looks so different every time I see a picture of him. He\’s very handsome.
    I hope you guys have a Happy Thanksgiving! =)
    Debbie

  6. eron says:

    Nice. Takes me back to my youth. Brit

Leave a Reply

